HR   and   Strategic Conversation

The Deltapoint logo shows two shapes - a triangle (delta-points) surrounded by a circle comprising four arrows.


The delta-points:

The three points of the  delta are used so often in our explanatory models, as is the loop  (circle) that we put the two together as our logo.

For example:

  • Emotional relationships: the three points are:
    • customer,
    • employee, and the
    • organisation.
  • Capabilities alignment the three points are:
    • market expectation,
    • organisation strategic focus, and the
    • workforce capabilities

There are may others.

We recognise the value of the use of such models to aid understanding  otherwise complex issues, and use models and frameworks extensively in our work.

The four-section circle:

... shows that whatever model  occupies the points in the delta, when the organisation strives for  excellence it is necessary to learn how to optimise and balance the  relationships.  Perhaps the most widely accepted learning model is based on a four-part repetitive cycle.  Effective learning occurs in the four phases (shown by the four arrows forming the circle) of think, plan,  do, and review, and then back to think about what happened.

The number 4 also has other  significance in learning.  Any learning program should attempt to  recognise that organisational members will have one of four preferred  learning styles depending upon where in the learning loop they are most  effective starting. The four learning styles associated with think,  plan, do, and review are theorist, pragmatist, activist, and reflector.  Different people want to start learning in one of the 4 parts.

Adopting strategies to recognise  learning styles not only has the potential to directly improve learning, but also reduce ineffective post-learning group behaviour.  Organisational change and development is aided by acknowledging such  individual differences.